The Stealth Wolf

For me, one of the worst parts about having lupus is its unpredictability.  I woke up feeling pretty good and decided to attack a few things on my eternal to-do list.  After I folded laundry, I made lunch.  I was having a perfectly lovely and lazy day on the couch.  I spent two hours catching up on “Scandal” and spent an hour more watching old episodes of “Designing Women”.  When I got up to get some water, my body was completely different.  There was a heavy and sharp pain in my arm and leg and the rest of my body felt completely worn out.  The exhaustion was as thick as tar.  I trudged my way to the kitchen and then couldn’t remember why I went in there.  I decided it was time for a nap.  Somehow, I made my way up the steps, though it felt like I was pulling one of those anvils from the Roadrunner cartoons behind me.  When I woke up, I felt worse than when I went to sleep.  A headache now accompanied all the other pain I was experiencing.

When I woke up this morning, I was energetic and optimistic about what I would accomplish today.  As, I struggle to get to sleep tonight,  I’m fighting the pain and depression and just hoping that I’ll feel better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

