Sweet Potato Memories

I’ve been looking forward to today all week long.  Today is the day I get started with my Thanksgiving dinner and Day One involves baking.  I started with Grandma’s Sweet Potato Pie.

I’ve written down her recipe at least three times in the past and every time I go to look for it, I can’t find it.  This year was no different, so I decided that instead of frustrating myself by continuing to look for the recipe, I would rely on my memory.  I felt pretty confident as I pulled out all of the ingredients for both the pie and the lemon cake I would make later.  As I started mixing things together, I got a little sentimental and decided to call Grandma.

As I talked to her, she asked if I had everything.  I rattled off a check list.

“I boiled my sweet potatoes this morning.  I’ve got the sugar, butter, evaporated milk, vanilla, cinnamon, and nutmeg.”

“Do you have any lemon?”

“Oh yeah, I already put the lemon in there.  I’m about to pour this in the crusts.  Why do I have these eggs over here?  I don’t need those until I bake my cake.”

“Yes you do need eggs!  Lord have mercy.”

I imagined that she was shaking her head at me.  I can’t believe I forgot the eggs.  Even worse, I can’t believe that I didn’t think I needed the eggs.  The mixture looked and tasted right to me, and since I was baking based on looks and taste, I thought I was done.

“How many eggs do I need?”

“How many pies are you making?”

“Two.  I always make two at a time.”

“Well, I guess you need about four eggs.”

Before I cracked an egg, I stopped what I was doing and wrote down the recipe and the first thing I wrote down was the eggs.  I wrote it on the sheet of paper that has my cake recipe written on it.  I’ve decided that I’m going to ask Grandma to write it down for me so that I can frame it and hang it on the wall in my kitchen, that way I’ll be sure to never loose it.  I would hate to have to rely on my memory and not have Grandma to tell me what I forgotten.

 

Leave a Reply

