Delayed Response

Today is the first day back to work after a long holiday away from the office.  It’s quite cloudy and raining; not an ideal day to return to the office.  I’m also feeling a little lupie today, so I’m not really firing on all cylinders.  Yet another reason that it’s not a good day to go back to work.  (For those that are new to my blog, “lupie” is a word I use to describe how I feel when I’m not experiencing a lupus flare, but my body is not quite right and I know that lupus is the culprit.)

I went to the post office after a quick court appearance this afternoon.  I needed to mail my friend, Shannon, this cool t-shirt.  When I left the post office, instead of circling the block, I decided to go back the way I came, which meant that I would be making a left onto a busy street.  I was prepared to have to sit at the stop sign for awhile, but didn’t mind because, well, I was in no real rush to return to the office.  When I got to the stop sign, there was already a white SUV across the intersection from me.  The older lady that was driving was waiting to go straight across the intersection.  Traffic flowed in both directions for awhile.  There were a couple moments when, had she gunned it, she could’ve made it through the intersection, but it was raining and the roads were slick, so I can’t blame her for playing it safe.  And since I was not in a rush, it didn’t really matter to me.

Just as the woman was about to go through the intersection, I felt my car move.  Because my body is acting a little off today, I first checked to see if my foot was on the brake.  When I realized that it was, I thought, “Damn.  There must be something wrong with my car.”  As my brain slowly went through all the options, I looked in my rear view mirror and said, “Oh shit.  Did you just hit my car?!”.  I put the car in park and got out.

As it happens in small towns, I recognized the woman whose car was pressed against my bumper, but I’m not sure that she recognized me.  She rolled down her window and said, with big eyes and a straight face, “I haven’t done anything but sit here and wait for you to move”. I reminded her that the car across from me had the right of way because she was going straight.  Her response? “Yeah, but I was just sitting here.  Is there something wrong with your car?”  I asked her to back up so that I could actually see my bumper.  There was no damage, so I told her I was fine and got back in my car.  Traffic had cleared, so I turned left and headed back to the office.

I was almost back to the office when my brain finally kicked into gear and I asked myself out loud, “Wait.  What the fuck did she just say to me?!”  As I replayed the incident, I realized that she was either saying, “I was totally innocent.  All I was doing was sitting here waiting when my car suddenly and magically ran into the back of yours”, or “Your ass was taking too long, so I decided that I would just try to push your car through the intersection.”  Either way, it was an insult to my intelligence.  I’m sure it was my foggy lupie brain that created a delayed response and protected the woman from witnessing a bit of my wrath…well, that and the fact that there was no damage to my car.

Leave a Reply

